#6 weekly synthesis

  1. Do you have any experiences learning about another language or living in another culture (broadly defined, not just culture as in nationalities)? What was your experience like? What were your struggles?
  2. Based on our discussions in class and the readings, what will you do differently in your future classrooms to foster different identities and abilities of your students? Provide a specific idea/assignment/example. This can also be a more diversity-inclusive version of what you see happening in your practicum classrooms or your middle/high school classrooms.
  3. Has your teaching philosophy been challenged or did it change? If so, how and why? If not, how and why?

Personally, I have never lived anywhere other than in Athens, Ga.  However, I have been on mission trips and in different places where they speak different languages.  Holy cow, that was difficult! I had a very hard time communicating with the people of Costa Rica and Indian Town, Florida because I am not a Spanish speaker! I can’t do it – even though I have taken many classes in an attempt to learn Spanish, I can’t remember a thing.  Therefore, I had a very hard time talking during those trips.  It was not a good feeling. I felt misunderstood and unable to speak my voice.  I was so glad that I was only there for 10 days or so because I could not have handled it for too much longer. Those trips gave me a new perspective and sympathy to those who don’t speak English but want to live in America.  I am impressed that they are able to be so successful and independent. Much respect!

If I am being honest, I had never really thought much about how I would accommodate those who are still learning or don’t speak English in my class room. I love Jennifer Gonzalez’s post: 12 Ways to Support English Learners in the Mainstream Classroom.  She gives many ideas and options that are incredibly useful – especially for a 1st year teacher. Every single suggestion is a great idea; however, I will speak on my top three favorites.

Number, 1: Learn about the cultural background of your students. I have always been an advocate for this. In order for students to feel included, understood, and heard the teach MUST be informed about them. No matter the student’s first language or not, ALL students must be acknowledged personally by the teacher.  This practice will allow the teach to see and acknowledge the English learner and then be able to work at getting a grasp of where they are originally from.

Number 2: Make it visual.  This is so important for the student to understand.  Personally, I am very visual.  Usually it takes me a little while to comprehend a bunch of words on the screen, and I am an English speaker! Imagine being expected to read a bunch of words to you can hardly comprehend. This would be incredibly discouraging while learning to speak a new language. This is useful for all students as well.

Number 3: Honor the silent period. Students are all adjusting, be aware that just because the student may not be vocally engaging yet, doesn’t mean that they aren’t engaged at all. They are having to work extra hard to get over this hump. Give the student some time and some space and respect that.

My teaching philosophy has been challenged. Challenged to go just beyond teaching but really working to understand my students.  I want to work at being inclusive and helpful to all of my students.  This is important to me because I wished that my teachers were accommodating to my personal “set backs”. Therefore, I want to do the same for my students – I want to give them what I did not have.

6 Comments

  1. Nat, I like how you expressed your personal experience with learning Spanish! I explained in my post that I figured most people felt this way despite taking at leave two courses on the language and you confirmed my suspicions! I found Mrs. Gonzales’ insights interesting as well and appreciate your interpretations of a few of her strategies. I bet you will be a great teacher! Using your own personal experiences with how you wish teachers had treated you is a great way to make a difference in the lives of your students! Thank you for your t.

    Like

  2. I love how you talked about your personal experience on mission trips and how you would feel out of place because you didn’t know the language!! I’m sure this will make you more empathetic to English Language Learners in your classroom!
    I also said my teaching philosophy has been challenged because I need to remember to be inclusive.

    Like

  3. Hey Natalie! I too have never lived outside of my small mountain town, until I came down to Athens. With that said, I have never been in a position where I am among a majority who speak a different language than me. The mission trips that I have been on have all been within the country, so there wasn’t really a language barrier there. It is important to be as inclusive as possible when dealing with kids who do not speak english well. I can only imagine what that feels like.

    Like

    1. Bryce,
      Yes, I agree. I can imagine its a constant feeling of confusion! And not to mention overwhelming. It’s interesting that education majors are not required to take another language, I feel like it would be not only helpful to learn how to communicate in another language, but it would also help future teachers be a little bit more understanding!

      Like

  4. Hey Natalie! I totally understand what you mean when you talk about the frustrations of not being able to learn Spanish of trying for so many years. I took 3 years of Spanish in high school and it just didn’t really click with me. But I think having that experience will really help us to empathize with any ELL students we may have, and also with any other student who may be struggling!

    Like

    1. Ashley,
      I have to take 3 more semesters of Spanish 😦 I just found that out, isn’t that awful? Anyways, yeah, I think that learning another language will definitely help teachers be more empathetic to their ELL students! It’s hard! And overwhelming!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment