Multimodal Popculture Project

My Journey Back to Middle School

My journey to becoming is a teacher is very important to me.  I chose to a narrative because I feel that it is the best way to document my story.  Instead of simply reading words, the viewer will see my face and my expressions.  This allows the viewers the ability to understand me (the presenter) much better (Robin).

I have never put together a video before. Because I have no experience with putting together clips, I decided that I should get some practice in if I want to be literate in this process.  This practice will only make it fair for my students in the future if I ask them to do the same. I will know how long the process generally takes and I will know if it is doable. Content literacy is not the same as content knowledge: It is the skills, not the facts” (York) I want to practice my content literacy with video creating.

We ask ourselves if technology should be included in what we call being literate in the twenty first century. In a YouTube video, we watched teachers discuss whether or not it should be added to what we call being literate (bibliosmartgirl). The question is, should we add technology to our definition of being literate?  I think that the answer is a big YES because that is what our world is quickly turning into – a world of technology. I want to be able to make a video collage because the students of this coming generation will generally be able to create one very easily.  Technology is taking over most of our content areas and we need to keep up with it.

Another reason I chose to do this project is because I am not a fan of going up in front of the class and acting or dancing. Artistic presentations are just not my style. I find value in videos mostly because I will have given myself a lot of preparation time, allowing myself to be particular about what is presented and what is left out. I can edit as much as I want until I’m happy with my finished product.  Yes, public speaking is great and important.  The Theatre of the Oppressed is a wonderful way of getting students in to the front of the class and learning to be comfortable (Biper555556).  However, if I am able to chose my own project, I’m more than likely going to chose something that does not involve me reciting something in front of a group of people.  

Works Cited:

York, Allison, http://contentliteracy101.weebly.com/what-is-content-literacy.html, Content Literacy 101

bibliosmartgirl, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wn0_H-kvxkU What Does it Mean to be Literate in the Twenty first Century? Nov 29, 2009

Bernard R. Robin (2008) Digital Storytelling: A Powerful Technology, Tool for the 21st Century Classroom, Theory Into Practice, 47:3, 220-228, DOI:10.1080/00405840802153916

Biper555556, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PxQ6SsfhiCw, What is Theatre of the Oppressed, May 9, 2017

Here is my video narrative:

LLED MM proj video.MOV(14.22 MB)

 

Leave a comment